The 16+1 Cooperation

A growing cooperation between China and 16 Central and Eastern European Countries

Founded in 2012, the 16+1 cooperation between sixteen Central and Eastern European Countries and China (CEEC & China) started as a Chinese government's initiative aimed at promoting business and investment relations between those seventeen countries, within the framework of the Chinese Belt and Road Initiative.

Members of the format include:

  • China

11 EU Member States:

  • Bulgaria

  • Croatia

  • Czech Republic

  • Estonia

  • Hungary

  • Latvia

  • Lithuania

  • Poland

  • Romania

  • Slovakia

  • Slovenia

and 5 non-EU countries:

  • Albania

  • Bosnia and Herzegovina

  • Montenegro

  • North Macedonia

  • Serbia

The idea of a special cooperation platform between the Central and Eastern European Countries and China emerged after the first China – Central and Eastern European Countries Economic and Trade Forum was held in Budapest in 2011.

Areas of cooperation

The participating countries aim to invigorate and expand their cooperation on a wide range of areas: trade and investment, connectivity, finance, agriculture, science and technology, health, education, culture, people-to-people relations.

In order to facilitate cooperation and exchange, various mechanisms and institutions have been established, gradually enhancing the 16+1 framework.

National coordinators, representing each country, meet regularly and their work is supported by the China–CEEC Secretariat, which is based in Beijing.

The Heads of Government Summits

The 16+1 countries meet annually at the Heads of Government level. So far seven summits were held:

2012 – Warsaw, Poland

2013 – Bucharest, Romania

2014 – Belgrade, Serbia

2015 – Suzhou, China

2016 – Riga, Latvia

2017 – Budapest, Hungary

2018 – Sofia, Bulgaria.

The 8th CEEC–China Summit will take place in Dubrovnik (Croatia) on 11–12 April 2019.